The 4% Challenge

Commit to announcing a project with a female director on a feature film in the next 18 months.


Nina Jacobson, Paul Feig, Amy Schumer, Angela Robinson and Franklin Leonard kicked off this challenge at a panel at the 2019 Sundance Film Festival. In a keynote address later that night, actress Tessa Thompson formally launched the TIME'S UP and the Annenberg Inclusion Initiative #4PercentChallenge, committing to announce a project with one female director in the next 18 months. 



Over the last decade, only 4% of the top 1,200 studio films were directed by women. That’s why TIME’S UP and the Annenberg Inclusion Initiative are initiating the #4percentchallenge to increase the number of women directing major studio films. 

We are supporting women directors from all backgrounds in this challenge, as studies show that women-directed films are more inclusive in terms of girls and women on screen, female characters 40 years of age and older and underrepresented racial/ethnic groups. Women directors also hire other women in key behind-the-camera roles. The aim is to humanize production processes so that all groups can thrive at work in safe contexts. This is a step in that direction.

The #4percentchallenge is part of the #TIMESUPX2 campaign, which was publicly launched at the 2019 Golden Globes. We are deeply grateful to Regina King for kickstarting this season of pledges with her powerhouse Globes acceptance speech. 


Here's an initial—and growing list—of who has signed on so far. Keep checking this page as we add more names. 

Adam Scott

Alex Saks and Page Fifty-Four Pictures

Alix Madigan

Amber Tamblyn

Amy Baer and Gidden Media

Amy Berg

Amy Nauiokus and Archer Gray

Amy Pascal

Amy Schumer

Andrea Riseborough

Andrew Karpen

Angela Robinson

Armie Hammer

Arianne Phillips

Ashley Judd

Brie Larson

Bruna Papandrea

Bryan Kaplan

Bryce Dallas Howard

Caitriona Balfe

Cassian Elwes

Cathy Schulman

Charles King

Chelah Horsdal

Chris Nee

Christine Vachon

Colin Trevorrow

Constance Wu

Damon Lindelof

Dan Carrillo and Moxie 88

Danielle Panabaker

Darla Anderson

Debbie Liebling

Eric Heisserer

Erik Feig

Eva Longoria

Franklin Leonard

Gigi Pritzker

Gina Rodriguez

Glen Basner

Gloria Calderón Kellett

Heather Matarazzo

Howard Rodman

Ilene Chaiken

J.J. Abrams and Bad Robot

Jamie Patricof

Jane Fleming

Janet Mock

Janet Yang

Jay Duplass

Jenji Kohan

Jenno Topping

Jennifer Garner

Jennifer Lopez

Jennifer Monks

Jess Wu Calder and Keith Calder

Jillian Armenante

Joe Pokaski

John Legend, Ty Stiklorius and Mike Jackson

Jordan Horowitz

Jordan Peele

Josh Gad

Judah Friedlander

Jurnee Smollett

Jussie Smollett

Karla Souza

Kendrick Sampson

Kerry Washington

Kristin Burr

Kumail Nanjiani

Kyra Sedgwick

Lena Waithe

Liz Gateley

Liz Hannah

Liza Chasin

Lucy Fisher and Doug Wick

Lydia Dean Pilcher

Lynette Howell

Maria Bello

Mark Duplass

Matt McGorry

Matthew Cherry

Mel Eslyn

Micah Green

Michael De Luca

Michelle Monaghan

Mimi Steinbauer

Misha Green

Monica Levinson

Natalie Portman

Nico Santos

Nina Jacobson and Brad Simpson

Olivia Wilde

Pam Abdy, Brad Weston and Makeready

Paul Feig

Paul Scheer

Paula Wagner

Phil Hay

Rachel Brosnahan

Rashida Jones

Reese Witherspoon

Rosie Perez

Ryan Murphy

Sarah Ann Masse

Shivani Rawat

Sid Ganis

Stephanie Allain

Steven Canals

Sue Kroll

Susan Sarandon

Tanya Lopez

Teri Weinberg

Tracee Ellis Ross

Travis Stevens

Trudie Styler and Celine Rattray

Warren Leight

Win Rosenfeld

 Working Title Films

Yolonda Ross

Zanne Devine

Zazie Beetz

Zoe Kazan

Zola Mashariki



Amazon Studios

Legendary Entertainment

MGM Studios

Paramount Pictures, Paramount Animation and Paramount Players

STX Entertainment

Universal Filmed Entertainment Group (Universal Pictures, Focus Features and Dreamworks Animation)

Warner Bros. Entertainment